Tuya Compatible or Xiaomi or OTHER Sensors

I’m hoping to buy some smart sensors (Door / Motion / Temp / Humidity etc) to integrate into my HA setup but I’m not sure whether to go for generic sensors that say they support Tuya or Xiaomi Mijia / Aqara sensors or any others that are out there that I haven’t yet heard of.
What are peoples opinions and findings on reliability and compatibility with HA of these types of sensors

Hi xion2000,
I would advise against the Tuya sensors. The Xiaomi sensors are generally very good. If you want to have it “local” you can use “deConz”, the sensors from “Philips Hue”, “IKEA Tradfri” and also the “Xiaomi” sensors can be connected. If you are a hobbyist I think “ESPHome” by Otto Winter is great !!! There are still sensors that transmit at 433 mHz and are very cheap, but I have no experience…

1 Like

+1 for Xiaomi, I have around 15 door/window sensors integrated with deCONZ. Long battery life and stable since the beginning (ca. 1 year)

1 Like

Tuya
cons - not everything with tuya is supported via the out of the box tuya integration
cons - the out of the box integration has to poll the tuya cloud - and can be slow (will create lots of warnings depending on the device, and requires ongoing internet access.
cons - most (all?) devices require mains power as they use wifi
pros - many devices can be flashed with tassmota or esphome (not tried it, can’t comment)

xiaomi
cons - need a zigbee hub - not all (xiaomi/mija) hubs can provide HA integration
pros - if your hub works, uses local access not internet
pros - can use a third party zigbee hub if you dont like the Chinese one
pros - battery life is typically a year.

1 Like