Tuya Integration - "Permission deny" error

Hi All,

Still as a relative newbie, I originally setup a HA install on a Pi using an SD card, but after using that for a number of months, I’ve decided to move over to a Pi4 with an SSD instead (based on the general consensus that it’s only a matter of time before all SD cards give up).

My issue is that I’m hitting a “Login error (1106): permission deny” error and I can’t figure out why.

I’ve bought a new Pi4 and SSD, installed the latest HA build, restored a backup from my existing / previous build, then updated everything (I’d not updated anything for a whilst in the pursuit of stability) to the latest versions. With this, the new Pi is now running;

Home Assistant Core 2022.6.4
Home Assistant Supervisor 2022.05.3
Home Assistant OS 8.1

… and I’m basically (at this stage) only really needing to use “a” Tuya integration, and a Broadlink integration.

Having migrated my existing build to the new Pi though, I can’t seem to get the Tuya integration to work; giving me this “Login error (1106): permission deny error.”

I know the email address and password I’m using are valid, as they allow me to login to the Tuya Developer portal, and I can see all of my devices within the Tuya Project in the Dev Poral - using the access ID and secret from this project, copied / pasted.

I’m conscious I’ve read that the Tuya integration has now been made part of the HA Core Build, so is different from when I installed it on my “existing / original” HA instance so maybe I’m doing something wrong … but I’ve followed instructions Googled / via YouTube and appear to be doing everything per instruction so far as I can tell.

I can’t seem to see anything on the subject from searching the forum here, nor other resources.

Does anyone have any advice on this permission error?

2 Likes

Hi, @cliffwright

Oddly enough, the Tuya integrations does NOT use the IoT portal credentials, but the SmartLife app credentials.