Underfloor heating with zone control

Zone control for Underfloor heating

May 2023

Introduction

Goal of the project: controlling the temperature in the individual zones / rooms by means of Home Assistant, floor heating and a heat pump.

Heat Pump; Daikin Altherma all electric, can also cool

Heat release; underfloor heating through loops at 10 cm throughout the 160m2 house.

I work as an architect in IT so I have knowledge about networking, hardware and software. I can also hold a screwdriver and solder. I have basic knowledge about electronics, I know what relays, diodes, transistors and resistors are. I am rebuilding my entire house and have kids and a 40 hour job, so time is not on my side. Doing home automation for more than 10 years now, FHEM / Domoticz and Home Assistant. In the past I wrote complex software.

Design considerations

In my search for a system that suits me, I came across and considered the following;

• I should be easy to build, I have limited electronics experience
  • I should not be to expensive
  • I have limited time, it must be able to be mounted quickly
  • I rather have ‘of the shelf’ components, I don’t want to much customization
  • No cloud / vendor lock in
  • It should be save

Requirements

These were my requirements;

1. There is underfloor heating on 3 floors
  2. There are 10 zones that I want to be able to heat / cool independently of each other
  3. There are 3 underfloor heating distributors with a total of 18 loops and therefore 18 valves to operate
  4. Must also be able to cool
  5. Must work with Home Assistant, so Wifi / Zwave of Zigbee
  6. Safe and trustworthy
  7. Preferably ‘off the shelf’ products
  8. Be quick and easy to build
  9. Economically well-considered, one hour my time translates to 100 euro.

Inspiration projects

Of Course I searched for projects that did the same, and I came upon a few;

If I take a good look at this design and try to understand it, I come to the conclusion;