Upgrading HomeAssistant in Docker

Hi All

Total Noob here so please bear with me.

I have read countless posts but feel completely out of my depth

I have a tiny think PC running Ubuntu, and installed HomeAssistant in docker many months ago. I havent ever tried updating it as i didnt know what i was doing

Now looking into it and im struggling to work out how to proceed.

I installed it originally using:

sudo docker run -d 
  --name=homeassistant 
  --restart=always 
  --network=host 
  -v /etc/homeassistant:/config 
  homeassistant/home-assistant:stable

its been running fine for the last few months but i just want to know how to update it

I can see it all running fine when i SSH in and run this: docker ps
CONTAINER ID IMAGE COMMAND CREATED STATUS PORTS NAMES
be497a7c15ac homeassistant/home-assistant:stable “/init” 4 months ago Up 4 months homeassistant

i came across some posts suggesting to “rm” the container, repull it and then its good to go, but was worried about where i have the config saved, will that be ‘safe’ or is that inside the docker container?
(i have made a backup “core_2023_6_3.tar” and saved it to my PC in case…)

any advice (in baby steps) would be really appreciated!!

System Information:

Version core-2023.6.3
Installation Type Home Assistant Container
Development false
Supervisor false
Docker true
User root
Virtual Environment false
Python Version 3.11.4
Operating System Family Linux
Operating System Version 5.19.0-46-generic
CPU Architecture x86_64
Timezone Europe/London
Configuration Directory /config

Home Assistant Community Store

GitHub API ok
GitHub Content ok
GitHub Web ok
GitHub API Calls Remaining 5000
Installed Version 1.33.0
Stage running
Available Repositories 1339
Downloaded Repositories 7

TIA
Kyle

Hi,

The answer you need is in the docs here:

so:

docker pull ghcr.io/home-assistant/home-assistant:stable

then:

docker stop homeassistant

then:

docker rm homeassistant

then your original command above:

sudo docker run -d