Weback cloud integration: testers and help required

Hello! Recently purchased a robot vacuum cleaner that works through the WeBack cloud. Since I did not find any existing integration, I reverse-engineered the application and wrote mine.

Installation

Add custom repository to HACS and install “Weback cloud integration”: https://github.com/opravdin/weback-hass
(will publish it in HACS soon)
Or manually move component to your custom_components folder.

Configuration is simple: (email login is not working for now)

weback:
    username: +7-1234567890
    password: <password>

Supported devices

Vacuum robots that mentioned as _CLEAN_ROBOT in Amazon’s API (weback is based on Amazon IoT). I wrote a script to test your device for compatibility, it’s available in the repository.

Help required

I am new in developing hass modules, so I have some (probably dumb) questions:

• Currently this integration works on polling update method, but it is possible to listen amazon’s mqtt topic for messages. Where can I see examples of integration with this approach?
  • I’m not sure if I implemented the polling mechanism correctly. Right now it looks like this:
@property
    def should_poll(self) -> bool:
        """Return True if entity has to be polled for state."""
        if self.last_fetch is None:
            return True
        if (
            datetime.datetime.now() - self.last_fetch
        ).total_seconds() > self.scan_interval.total_seconds():
            return True
        return False
  • How best to pass battery_level attribute: via device_state_attributes or via @property?
  • Some devices (including mine) support mop mode control when garbage container replaced with water tank. There are 3 levels of water intensity in API so I want to add controls like fan’s ones. How to implement that?