What sensor for 3 phase over WiFi monitoring? IoTaWatt, Emporia Vue, Iammeter, emontx4, other options?

Hi there,

So I’ve taken up the task to set up electrical power consumption monitoring for the biggest consumers in our industrial sheet metal factory. Think of machines like air compressors, sheet metal punching machines, robots and co2 laser systems.

The goal is to create some dashboading of power consumption in homeassistant/grafana/influxdb so we can create awareness of power consumption (motivate departments to shut down machines in time) and get insights in standby-usage and maybe introduce some circuit breakers here and there to save some energy.

I am no electrician and mostly focused on the IT aspect of dashboarding and connectivity, so bear with me. Trying to find the best system here. (Installing the sensors will be done by a professional, not by me.)

Requirements/Wishlist

• CT clamping system, non-intrusive, we don’t want to put the power meters ‘in-between’ the grid transformer and the machines.
  • Ability to monitor machines rated up to more or less 200A on a 3 phase system.
  • WiFi connectivity to save significant costs on running new ethernet wires across our factory. We already have good wifi coverage. Protocol such as Zigbee won’t work, distances too large and imho not stable enough.
  • External antenna option (individual phase wires are often only accessible within sheet metal power cabinets (Rittal, etc.)
  • Open data portal, local connectivy option. For instance MQTT would be a big plus. I don’t want to rely on cloud services / subscriptions and want to be able to read the data streams and feed it into influxdb/etc.
  • Wishlist: Multiple 3-phase systems on a single ‘box’ would be a plus so we can also monitor from the power distribution cabinets instead of at the machines where the wires run to.
  • Not having to solder or flash custom firmwares and out of the box functionality would be a plus.