Why do my devices not show in Configuration.yaml?

I have HA setup in a Docker Container on a Raspberry Pi5. I have a few devices connected, one of which being my Risco Cloud alarm system.

I’m just learning at the moment, and understanding how to configure things, but I’m stuggling with manually editing devices, as there is nothing useful in my configuration.yaml, which every internet guide seems to point me towards.

I have a Docker volume mapped to the /config folder in the HA image. I can see the automations.yaml includes all of the automations I have configured, but this is all that shows in configuration.yaml:

Loads default set of integrations. Do not remove.

default_config:

Load frontend themes from the themes folder

frontend:
themes: !include_dir_merge_named themes

automation: !include automations.yaml
script: !include scripts.yaml
scene: !include scenes.yaml

Is Device config stored somewhere else?

Firstly:

Screenshot 2024-07-15 at 22-35-52 Why do my devices not show in Configuration.yaml - Configuration - Home Assistant Community

Or see point 11 here: How to help us help you - or How to ask a good question

You have default _config in your configuration.yaml. This includes a lot of integrations for you. All these listed here: Default Config - Home Assistant

What device do you want to edit?

1 Like

configuration.yaml is never written to by HA, only read from. “Every internet guide” tends to be out of date: HA is moving more and more towards full UI configuration. Automations, script and scenes are a bit of an outlier in that regard: most “incoming” config is stored in registries and files that you should not be fiddling with.

If your devices are already in HA, there’s rarely any YAML editing needed or possible.

Which devices are you trying to “manually edit” and why?