Wi-Fi Power Strip by TP-Link (HS300)

Just sharing a new TP-link product, the HS300. Curious if anyone has ordered or tried this yet…

6 smart outlets – independently control 6 smart outlets, and charge 3 devices with built-in USB ports.
Energy monitoring – monitor how much energy devices connected to the power strip consume.

1 Like

Just got mine today. In the Kasa app, each outlet shows up as a separate “plug”. I added it to HA but it doesn’t show all the outlets and only shows as 1 switch but doesn’t actually control it.

I’m not a programmer but I’ll take a look at the code to see if I can figure something out but if someone smarter than me wants to take a crack at it then I can be a guinea pig.

I just received one of the 2 outlet units (the (HS107) and suspect it will behave the same way your describing the HS300. Will try to test it out this week and maybe we can look at the code together (I am not a programmer either).

Got mine today, I like it already. 6 plugs per power bar, each individually metered & switched. I think this is the cheapest PDU (per outlet) that has both switching and metering per outlet.

It looks like support first needs to be added in the underlying library pyHS100, then added to home assistant from there.

I got a capture of the outlet indexing with Wireshark. I added basic functionality for individual outlet on/off control in a dirty branch on my fork of pyHS100. Information here: https://github.com/GadgetReactor/pyHS100/issues/131

Is this TP link power strip now able to be used in HA? Are things on the Git Hub end all solved? If so, how does this get pushed to the HA for future updates and use?
Thanks!

I will be receiving my hs300 tomorrow… If I can’t find any effort for support in tp link switch component of HA, I’ll be taking a stab at updating it for pyHS100 repo branch.

1 Like

It’s already being worked on: https://github.com/GadgetReactor/pyHS100/pull/137

1 Like