WiFi or ZWave (or ZigBee)? The big question

Hi,

I am using since a while now zigbee (xiaomi and philips) and WiFi (Broadlink, plus other brands, I think all using the ESP8266 chip) and some 433MHz sensors and switches (which I don’t like because of no status signal).

I found the WiFi not reliable enough (at least my few months experience), and I live in a single house, so I have some but little interference from outside WiFi (what happens in an apartment building with 10+ WiFi routers?).

Zigbee is a bit better, problem is I see lot of confusion between different ZigBee protocols, and there are not so many vendors around.

I ordered my first Zwave devices, so I have no direct experience yet.

For my final automation system I would prefer to rely on one system only

I was wondering what the forum has to say on the subject

Interesting… I get this question asked a lot at my work…
I don’t think there will ever be a preferred system.
There are so many systems to add to your suggestions:
Google thread and zigbee, Homekit using wifi and bluetooth.
Another great diy alternative is https://www.mysensors.org/

However, I think it is safe to say nowadays the radio with the most devices would be Z-wave.

I don’t have any zwave experience myself. It would be great if someone could share their thoughts on this (like installation ease and reliability)

It is an interesting question and one I asked myself a while back.
I had wifi issues, but I was able to sort them using an app on my smart phone to detect which wifi channels were in use. I turned my router off and got the app to scan. I made a note of the channels in use, then configured my router to use one as far away from the others as possible. Sorted out the problem nicely.
I’m using LghtwaveRF for the switches because they were the nicest looking switches. We have the group controller ones which run off a battery. They aren’t actually main connected.
Our lights are all Hue and we have a lot of Z Wave switches too.