Z-Wave Alliance Announcement

Interesting.

1 Like

The direct reference to Matter, and by implication Thread made me quietly chuckle! :smirk:

To see SilLabs / ZWA offering a combined “multi-protocol software development kit, the Unify SDK” is an interesting turn - support Matter (or Thread?) and Z-Wave on a single software stack?

Z-Wave needs SilLabs hardware, and guess what Naba Casa Yellow / SkyConnect uses for the radio / Coordinator? Yup - a SilLabs device!

The SkyConnect chip will eventually provide Zigbee + Thread, but could a multi-chip + single software stack with one API be the SilLabs offering here giving Zigbee/ Thread/ Z-Wave?
(Zigbee/Thread IEEE 802.15.4 uses different frequencies from Z-Wave so one chip is unlikely.)

I’ve been using Z-Wave for many years and have several tens of devices in production so the idea of keeping the proprietary protocol alive is good. The Z-Wave Alliance have been producing a reference implementation of the protocol stack for many years, and projects like openHAB and likely HASS occasionally look at their code and the terms. I’ve not seen a movement from their own native language (Java or Python) FOSS implementations to the ZWA version.

The issue here is market economics:

• Z-Wave devices originally could only use one proprietary radio chip, and the product had to pass certification testing. This increased the device costs, reduced battery life, and on the whole only slightly increased device compatibility (Fibaro, with their refusal to release firmware fixing their mistakes being my favourite target). Battery devices still use CR123A, which are expensive. The upside is the centrally managed radio mesh works well, and many device bugs get worked around in FOSS quirk files.