Z-wave and install

Putting this in social as I guess it is just conversation, looking for input.

My home is fully automated. Every switch, fan, thermostat, light or other is z-wave and I have zigbee motion sensors inside and out that orchestrate light and device operation. It all works and I never really tinker with it (not a hobby as much as a quality of life thing). I don’t use tablets, as the home knows what I am doing and sets things up accordingly. I have a phone interface, but use it only when I want to override something (rare).

I control it all with HS3. I was considering moving to HA but have a couple of concerns.

Some folks on the forums indicate that HA Z-wave start and usage is slow and limited. Is the HA z-wave ready for bulletproof, year over year use?

My second concern is the ways to install HA. I am a retired former sys admin. The install options for HA seems really really odd. I assume a normal install is what they are calling “supervised”??? I get the impression they want me to put an OS on my home automation server then run HA as a virtual guest OS. Why? I don’t mind sticking with the mandated OS (Debian), but the attempt to scare potential users off of installing the product normally has me scratching my head. I mean, I was ready to give it a test run until I got to the documentation. They make it out to be more complex than setting upa a LAMP stack server from scratch.

My home automation server typically runs headless and does not run a GUI, so I typically want to run services that I can manage via SSH. Any input on the push for running as a virtual guest OS would be welcome.

There’s been three different Z-Wave integrations so far. The latest one, Z-Wave JS, is very different to the previous two and feedback from those that have switched is that it’s a lot faster.

Well, what’s normal…

You’ve really got two sane options:

Home Assistant OS: Run it in a VM or a dedicated machine
Home Assistant Container: Run it in Docker