Z-Wave Fan Control

I’ve got a GE Z-Wave Fan Control (12730). Unfortunately, OpenZWave doesn’t have it in their device list yet. When adding the device to HA, it adds as a light dimmer and the controls are less than ideal. The device is in Z-Wave Alliance.

In addition, I found this awesome application that a member of the Smartthings community created. Unfortunately, I’m not a programmer so I don’t know how to port that information to HA. I’m hoping that it’s fairly easy to accomplish because it looks perfect. Thanks!

Can you provide the zwcfg_xxxxx.xml entry for this device, then maybe I can make something for the fan component.

Currently, it is showing up as a dimmer switch in zwcfg. Is that what you’re asking for? If so, here is the link

Sadly there are som problems to get this into HA properly:
The zwave part reports it as multilevel power switch, which is a dimmer control.
It can be done to make it appear in the fan component, but it will also appear in the light component because of the definition from the switch. From the file you provided, this looks to work like a dimmer too. No specific things related to fan control. Meaning what you have through the light component(which is correctly) is all the controls the switch supports.
On, Off, and dim(speed) Hope this helps.

I’m not sure I understand. My understanding is that the ozwcp is recognizing the device incorrectly as a dimmer instead of a fan control. Wouldn’t a proper configuration in OpenZwave database fix that? If not, how did the custom app in SmartThings get it working so well? App mentioned in first post.