Zwave 800 Long Range Not Working

Hi. I am new to HA. I have a Pi 4, Zooz 800 Long Range Stick, and Zooz Long Range dimmer switches. I have been unable to get anything to connect farther than 30-40 feet. I contacted zooz and they said that my devices are connecting via 700 protocol instead of 800, but that they do not support HA to fix it. Can anyone please tell me what I am doing wrong or how to fix it?

Thanks so much!

Z-Wave JS does not support Long Range yet.

I use ZWave JS UI with a Zooz USB 800 and it works perfectly.

I am not the most technical person, but my suggestion is to reset the Zooz stick, remove the ZWave module from HA and start over.
Resetting the Zooz stick is a bit complicated and you may need the Zooz Simplicity Studio software to do that.
FIRST try to remove the ZWave module from HA and adding it again, and then try with the stick. If that does not work, then reset the stick.
I use ZWave JS UI with the Zooz 800 USB, and it works fine. I have no idea whether I actually get “long range”, which is not an issue for me with some 80 Zwave devices in my mesh network and anyway most of my devices are either 700 or 500, and maybe even a few 300. As said, I have an excellent and relatively fast ZWave mesh network.

Hi @freshcoast ! Thanks for the reply.

Is there any work around or some way at all to use Long Range?

Have you heard any updates on when Long Range may be supported by HA?

I have done extensive searching on both topics and it is shocking how little information there is on the subject.

Thanks again!

The controller software has to implement LR support. There’s no workaround unless you consider switching to other software.

You can try asking your questions at the Z-Wave JS project site. https://github.com/zwave-js/node-zwave-js/discussions

1 Like

What other controller supports long-range?