Advanced mode in Docker

Hello guys,

I am completely new to the world of Home assistant (and sadly also to the world of docker etc.). I have a fresh installation of Raspberry OS on my Raspberry Pi 400, then docker and afterwards portainer. Than I managed to install Home Assistant via portainer. So far so good. (only took me 10 hours :smiley: ).
Now I have the problem that I am not able to go into the supervisor settings from my Home assistant. I can enable the advanced mode but the ā€œSupervisorā€ tab that is supposed to pop up in the sidebar wonĀ“t come up. I tried rebooting in every different combination and several different browsers. It would not work. Now I am unable to install add-ons etc. and I canĀ“t use Home Assistant to its fullest potential.

I already searched this forum and the internet for two hours but can not find the solution. I read somewhere that the advanced mode is not working with docker. Is that true? If yes, why would you install Home assistant in docker in the first place?

Thank you for helping an absolute beginner out.

Cheers

Thatā€™s likely because you didnā€™t install the correct version of HA.

you wanted ā€œHA Supervisedā€ but you installed ā€œHA Containerā€ instead.

If you want a Supervisor you need to install either HA OS or run the Supervised installer script.

2 Likes

There is no addon store when running the home assistant container version. See this thread.

Technically, the addons are themselves docker containers that are managed by the home assistant supervisor. What addons did you want to use? You generally can install the equivalent full version of the addon in docker. For example, you already installed portainer so wouldnā€™t need the portainer addon. I have zwavejs2mqtt, Zigbee2mqtt, and node red all installed independently through docker, but they still work with Home Assistant container. I can post install instructions on one you would need if Iā€™m familiar with them.