Anyone tried to get data from a BME280 sensor?

Hi guys. I’m trying to collect temp, pressure and humidity from a BME280 sensor. I’m fairly new to the Home Assistant club, so I don’t know how to proceed. I know it’s a i2c sensor, but is it possible to extract parts of a python script that reads the value or anything like that?

The sensor is connected to the GPIO on my Raspberry Pi 3.

You need support for i2c on your hardware platform. At the moment there is no support for i2c available in Home Assistant but you could use an external with smbus2 with the command-line sensor.

Hi,
I’ve just created similar (BMP280) component code, it’s described here. The commit also contains i2c support on Rpi via smbus2, as @fabaff suggested.
I will order BME280 or even BME680 too, and will try to code it,
but don’t know if it’s worth to be integrated in main branch, while effort to properly submit PR is rather big to me…
Kind regards,
Jurek

That is great news!

I use BMP180 on ESP8266 with ESPEasy firmware. ESPEasy supports BMP085, BMP280 and BME280. It works really well with HA as it sends the data over MQTT. I didn’t manage to get it working with HA when it was connected to RPi.
Only disadvantage is that you need another piece of hardware.
In my setup with RPi I used DHT22 to monitor temp and humidity in one room and BPM180 on ESP8266 to monitor temperature and pressure in other room. Pressure can be measured anywhere as long as you want to measure places at the same altitude.

Using BMP/BME280 on separate hardware may be better option than connecting it directly to Raspberry Pi because RPi may affect temperature readings.
In my case it’s +2.5 deg with sensor located as on this https://goo.gl/photos/7NEk26Kd2qQqvNb36 photo. The sensor in in metal cage, under the hood is RPi B+, 8 relays module, 2A power supply and 3.5’’ LCD screen. I will do another try with replacing metal screws with plastic ones, it may help.