Aqara h1 button press not triggering automation

Hi,

I’m very new to Home Assistant and Home Automation in general. I installed HA on my RPi 4 following the documentation on this page. As I understand it that means I’m running HassOS and not Hass.io? Anyway I installed my Conbee II and it seems to be working correctly.

I’m running the latest version as far as I can tell. core-2022.2.2, supervisor-2022.01.1, OS Home Assistant OS 7.2

The scenario I’m trying to realize is this: I have a lamp at the bottom of out stairs. I installed an Aqara Smart Wall Switch H1 EU (No Neutral, Single Rocker) for it. The switch turns the lamp on/ off when clicked so it is installed correctly. I want to be able to turn the lamp on/ off from the top of the stairs as well. I have an Aqara Wireless Remote Switch H1 (Double Rocker) I want to use for this.

The Conbee II was in my list of detected devises (I did install the deCONZ add-on first, not sure if that was necessary) so I configured it from there. Then I added both Aqara switches via the Conbee II device. Both are now listed in my devices and it shows the battery of the wireless switch is 100%.

From the wireless switch I added an automation to turn on/ off the wall switch.

alias: Switch lights at the bottom of the stairs
description: ''
trigger:
  - device_id: 5ae3031cc21a64f56ac304836170b4d5
    domain: zha
    platform: device
    type: remote_button_short_press
    subtype: right
condition: []
action:
  - type: toggle
    device_id: ceffc466a2d94029f5a2a974ad9aea00
    entity_id: light.lumi_lumi_switch_l1aeu1_44452200_on_off
    domain: light
mode: single

When I run the automation, the lamp is turned on/ off. So the action is working. The part I’m having issues with is that it is not triggering when I press the remote switch’s right button (or left button, of course I tried that as well). The automation is enabled.