Best, easiest and of course lowest cost smart thermostat for Home Assistant

Yeah, I want it all like most of us out there… But seriously

I am looking to replace my HAI OmniStat 2 thermostat that has failed. Looking for an easy to integrate thermostat that Home Assistant can control. I do not have any Z-Wave or ZigBee devices. Privacy is paramount so I do not want to use Alexa of Google or anything like that to control it. I really am in a quandary and just want to reach out and see what the Home Assistant community has to say.

Oh and I am very very new to HA…

Thx

2 Likes

What is it controlling?

Would you go zigbee or zwave?

Is it switching 120v or 240v?

Mine still works (FWIW, I wrote a driver for it to work with my home automation system 12+ years ago; it
now works with Home Assistant via MQTT) but I have been investigating potential replacements in the event it fails.

Currently, I lean towards the Honeywell T9 Smart Thermostat, primarily because it works with remote temperature/motion sensors and it’s accessible locally via the homekit_controller integration. However, it doesn’t have some features found on the OmniStat/2 (like humidifier control and multi-stage heating). The next model up, the T10, supports that and more but is meant to be installed by a professional (you can buy the T10 on Amazon but its warranty is voided if a non-professional installs it).

I have a standard single stage furnace. I would consider Z-Wave, from what I have read zigbee is not as easy to deal with. I am not switching 120v but I do have a Oil filled portable heater I use as backup heat (freeze prevention) since my OmniStat will turn the furnace off if I try to adjust the temperature.

You could use a relay + contactor, and esphome. And/or a lanbon l8.

https://haswitchplate.github.io/openHASP-docs/0.6.2/devices/lanbon-l8/

1 Like