Changing states of text_input from a script

I’m trying to write a script that will change the value of text_input, but it doesnt seem to do anything when I run it.

my script:

my_script:
  alias: Do a thing
  sequence:
    - service: input_text.select_value
      data_template:
        entity_id: input_text.mytextbox
        value: 1234

my text_input:

input_text:
  mytextbox:
    name: Text Box

Activating the script does not give any errors, but also does not change the state of mytextbox. Im new to HA and Im sure Im missing something.

I don’t think there is ‘select_value’ service call for ‘input_text’. Try ‘set_value’.

You can find the services that are available for each domain using ‘Services’ under ‘Developer Tools’.

worked perfect, Thanks!

For anyone else reading this…
Ensure the length of the string value being set is smaller or equal to the max length of the input_text (if set). Longer strings throw an error in the log and thus don’t change the input_text value.

Example:
configuration.yaml:

input_text:
  lcd1:
    name: LCD1
    max: 2
  lcd2:
    name: LCD2
  lcd3:
    name: LCD3
  lcd4:
    name: LCD4

If you assume we have a variable ‘message’ with a value of “Hello”.
in scripts.yaml:
This calls the script tw_announce passing the variable ‘message’

- service: script.turn_on
        entity_id: script.tw_announce
        data_template:
          variables:
            message: 'Target temperature now set to {{ states.climate.living_room.attributes.temperature }},'
  tw_announce:
    alias: "Announcement"
    sequence:
    - service: input_text.set_value
      data_template:
        entity_id: input_text.lcd4
        value: '{{message}}'

This will not set the value of input_text.lcd4 because the value of message exceeds 2 characters.

Is there a way to set the input text value to empty? I want to clear it after it is being set.

Looking for the same…

I did figure out a work around but it only works with single word text input: