Climate HVAC Modes with KNX Integration

Hi,

I am new to HA and currently trying to set up my KNX-controlled Mitsubishi air condition with the KNX integration. It partly works, but I can’t set any other HVAC mode than “heat”. I am not yet fully understanding how all the different aspects are supposed to interconnect, but it seems that the entity created by the KNX integration does not contain other modes than heat, even though I configured them.

Any help would be appreciated.

Cheers,
Stefan

The card shows:

from my configuration.yaml

climate:
    - name: "Klimaanlage Wohnzimmer"
      temperature_address: "6/5/14"
      target_temperature_address: "6/4/10"
      target_temperature_state_address: "6/5/13"
      min_temp: 18.0
      max_temp: 26.0
      operation_mode_address: "6/4/2"
      operation_mode_state_address: "6/5/2"
      controller_modes:
        - "Off"
        - "Heat"
        - "Cool"
        - "Fan only"
        - "Dry"
      on_off_address: "6/4/1"
      on_off_state_address: "6/5/1"

state of the entity in developer mode shows:

hvac_modes:
  - 'off'
  - heat
min_temp: 18
max_temp: 26
target_temp_step: 0.1
preset_modes:
  - sleep
  - none
  - comfort
  - eco
  - away
current_temperature: 18
temperature: 24
hvac_action: 'off'
preset_mode: comfort
friendly_name: Klimaanlage Wohnzimmer
supported_features: 17
1 Like

Having summed up everything for this posting made me realize that I confused operation mode and controller mode. renaming operation_mode_address to controller_mode_address fixed it… Sorry for this (semi-)useless posting :wink:

Hi :wave:!

Remove that - it overrides available modes for the purpose of removing specific ones from UI (which is not really intuitive :grimacing:). It can’t add modes that can’t be controlled…

operation_mode_* is used for HA Climate presets (the wording is misleading, but thats just differently specified in HA and KNX).