Control Liftmaster LA400 Gate Opener via HA?

There is a lot of discussion in a few different garage door opener threads, but I can’t find a gate opener specific thread, so I am posting this

I have a Liftmaster garage door opener with MyQ, and the LA400 gate connects to the garage door opener so in the app I see both. As we all know, the API sucks and for me currently just flat out stopped working. When it worked, it was okay as it let me control the door and gate, but it was slow and required the internet.

The go-to fix has been the HomeKit add-on, which lets you control the door and gate locally, but they have now nuked that device and support for it is/has ended

There are many solutions for garage doors such as OpenGarage and Ratgdo, but so far none of them support the LA400 gate openers that I can tell.

Has anyone hacked something together to get an LA400 gate opener to work? I know @PaulWieland commented that they may be supported by Ratdgo in the future, but I’m not sure when that is. Will the hardware be the same?

Would love to know what y’all’s solutions are for gates, specifically the LA400

1 Like

I have tried a little of everything

RasPI gpio triggering relays
Wifi relay
Zwave zooz 16

What i would really like is a simple POE relay. All technologies worked well. The difficulty for me is determining what hardware i want at gate.

L400 has an Open and Single Button Control(SBC). You really only need to get a relay to close those contacts.

1 Like

What did you use to determine if the gate was open or closed?

when I used RasPi i used magnetic door contact to GPIO. There is heavy duty version used for garage that are great.

I use Zen16 now. I does not have contact but zen17 version does. I have my dahua doorbell that I still need to install. It has relay for gate open and input for open/close sensor. I may switch to that.

does your look like this? the SBC terminals would need to be wired to one of the solutions being discussed