Dominator garage door connecting to Home Assistant - New Zealand

Hi’ya all,

Home assistant newbie here!
We are building a new house and we are getting a Dominator Garage door.
Any fellow kiwis out here who has managed to connect them to their Home Assistant?
T.a.

Cheers,
Liz

1 Like

Maybe try and hook it to your alarm as an alaarm output/input…and then get home assistant to monitor that.

Otherwise you’d need some sort of remote relay (shelly, sonoff, zwave) added to close the contacts on the door controller.

While I don’t have a dominator door, I had mine hooked up to my paradox alarm that I have control of viw mqtt (with homekit/home assistant and openhab control) - that is able to send the door open command.

There’s also the question of door state which can be a seperate reed switch. I know domianator does sell a wifi kit for it, but whether someone has integrated that into any home automation software would be the question.

1 Like

Hello fellow kiwis.

What model Dominator? Often they have simple connections that, when shorted out, cycle the door between open/stop/close/stop/open (and so on).

You then also need some sensors to tell when the door is open or closed or in between.

Put it all together with esphome and Bob’s your uncle.

You can also use a distance sensor to guess if the car is in there.

There are commercial tools though like opengarage which do much the same thing.

I am not sure about whether Dominator have a commercial addon - they probably do, but it’ll cost more than it is worth, and store your data on the internet.

I’ve got the Shelly 1 and have done the initial wiring for it with the 12v adapter. Followed The Hook Up video on YouTube. But I just don’t know what terminals to wire it into for the Dominator garage door opener.

What is the opener? They often have a model name on the opener device inside the garage.

The model is the Advance SDO-2V2