DSC Alarm integration

My DSC alarm has an Envisalink ethernet interface installed in it which currently allows me to control it very nicely as OpenHAB has a “binding” for it…

Having a similar “component” from Home Assistant would be a great first use case for me giving it a try… I only stumbled upon Home Assistant today :slight_smile:

I have motion sensors for the alarm in every room in the house and being able to tap into those and also control the alarm as a whole is a great feature.

2 Likes

+1 for a DSC (via Envisalink) component!!
This would open Home Assistant up to a much larger home automation community. I’ve use multiple HA platforms (HomeSeer, OpenHAB, Indigo), all having an interface to Envisalink. I’m not a developer, but thought I’d try porting the Envisalink plugin I’ve used for 3+ years… but found myself lost in learning Home Assistant and Python at the same time.

Maybe someone who knows Home Assistant could port this plugin. It’s written in Python for Indigo HA.
Envisalink Plugin

1 Like

+1 for DSC/Envisalink. It is the only think making me hang on to my Vera system even though the plugin for Vera hasn’t been updated since 2014. It is also supported in OpenHAB so of course I tried that before being bogged down in configuration files.

I’m loving HA as it is pretty easy to get things working but DSC integration would be icing on the cake. Anyone keen to take up the challenge?

1 Like

The actual issue with the integration of new devices is the lack of access to the hardware by people who are willing to do it. Of course, it’s possible to do some reverse engineering of an existing library but at the end you need the physical device to test your implementation.

Thanks for the prompt reply. Of course, understood. Is there a way I can allow you remote access to my hardware? Is that doable or of any benefit?