Edit configuration.yaml with Hass.io CLI

Hi, I’m totally new to HA and is using a Raspberry PI 3 b+. This topic was posted before, but I don’t think it was solved. After making mistakes to my configuration.yaml,I wasn’t able to access the UI, thanks to DavidFW1960 and Jardiamj I was able to get to Hass.io CLI.

_    _                 _       
 | |  | |               (_)      
 | |__| | __ _ ___ ___   _  ___  
 |  __  |/ _` / __/ __| | |/ _ \ 
 | |  | | (_| \__ \__ \_| | (_) |
 |_|  |_|\__,_|___/___(_)_|\___/ 

Welcome on Hass.io CLI for HassOS.

For more details use 'help' and 'exit' to close.
If you need access to host system use 'login'.

hassio > 

but I’m a bit confused and was wondering if I can access the configuration.yaml here, so I can change the commands (in configuration.yaml), restart HA and will be able to access the UI again. I do not have samba nor the ssh add-on installed :frowning:

Sorry for making a big fuss about this but I really just want to be able to access the UI again. Thanks a lot! And any help would be appreciated.

11 Likes

Yes you can do this as you are in the root of the docker container in Hassio. So to do that you need to learn the commands.

Much easier however is to use the samba plugin and then edit with an editor on your pc/laptop rand use the configuration add on.

1 Like

Thank you for the reply, I did not install samba before I messed up the configuration.yaml and unable to access the UI, so I’m not sure how I can still install/use samba.

Where can I possibly learn the commands/ how can I install samba ( have no experience with this) Thanks a lot!

1 Like

Are you ssh’d into hassio, or are you accessing it via a keyboard/monitor plugged into your raspberry pi?

Googling this shows there are helpful links out there. For example:
https://www.simplified.guide/ssh/copy-file

1 Like

I’m ssh’d into Hassio, thanks!

Then the file (and all your config files) are in the

/config

directory.