Google Maps location sharing

Could the new Google Maps location sharing feature be used for presence detection?
It looks a lot like the old Google Latitude.

Good thinking!

It would probably need google authentication in same way that gcal does:

If the person you’re sharing with is not in your Google contacts, you can also copy and paste a link and share it to them via text or email. However, these links are restricted to time-based location-sharing for safety reasons; the links will expire once the time is up.

I already have the component for it:

Here is the documentation:

I have been using it since ~November 2016.
(I had submitted a PR but it went nowhere: https://github.com/home-assistant/home-assistant/pull/4870)

4 Likes

Does this still work now that they’ve pulled location out of Google Plus?

Self Mode works!

Location cards still show up in Google Plus. The only thing that changed is that now the location sharing needs to be set up in the google maps app on Android instead of the google plus app. Safe mode works for me.

2 Likes

Yeah, that makes sense. I asked before I actually looked at how you had written it. Nice job, by the way. Would love to see this officially supported. I went with Self Mode to start but I think I will switch to Safe once I can get a dummy account created.

I’m having a little bit of trouble setting this up. I think my url field is wrong. Home-Assistant throws the following error

17-04-18 21:59:30 ERROR (Thread-5) [homeassistant.core] Error doing job: Future exception was never retrieved
Traceback (most recent call last):
File “/usr/local/lib/python3.5/concurrent/futures/thread.py”, line 55, in run
result = self.fn(*self.args, **self.kwargs)
File “/config/custom_components/device_tracker/gplus.py”, line 95, in get_position
update_data_at()
File “/config/custom_components/device_tracker/gplus.py”, line 90, in update_data_at
data[‘at’] = sdict[‘SNlM0e’]
KeyError: ‘SNlM0e’