Google Music in HA -- Now as a media player!

Based on the original gmusic in HA code by @Danielhiversen

The gmusic switch and gmusic using appdaemon had a love child and it’s a media player! :tada:

Well sort of… It should be said first that this is probably not a “properly” written custom component. I’m still very new to even the basics of python and have barely scratched the surface when it comes to “properly” writing a custom component for Home Assistant. Did I mention I’m not a programmer?

I can sum it up like this. There’s the right way and there’s the get it done way. This is a get it done way.

So technically this is not really a media player because it does not actually play any music by itself! However, it is a media player in the sense that it contains media player controls (like Play, Stop, Next Track, etc) and advances through a list songs you want to hear. It is better to think of this more as a media controller. The basic function of gmusic_player is using the gmusicapi to retrieve various lists of songs from Google Music. For example a Playlist or a Station. From that list it obtains the unique ID for each song. Using the song ID, gmusic_player makes another request to gmusicapi (or local gmusicproxy) to obtain a playback url. When gmusic_player receives the url, it finally uses the play_media service to start playback on your selected speakers.

While this is not perfect custom component, it does seem to work rather well so far.

Not perfect: