Govee news - there's a local API

Govee now has a local API for some devices. It’s available via the IP. If the device has a setting to enable local access, then you can use the API. The full documentation is in the app, too – alas, no URL for it, so I did screen captures and turned them into a PDF.

The protocol is a simple UDP messaging
scan - get the devices to report
turn brightness etc., corresponding roughly to the cloud API
devStatus returns local status.

No notification so I need to poll

It’s far from perfect, but a very encouraging start, and I already have it working locally.

I want to encourage them to continue the effort.

11 Likes

How long do you think this will take for HACS or HA integration? I’m new to HA as I’ve been using Alexa for Govee. Due to the quantity of Govee lights throughout my home I run into issues consistently.

@BobFrankston I tried reading through the documentation and I was lost. I don’t have any experience with UDP messaging or anything else that the Developer’s LAN API Interface Guide explains. If you have the time could you provide a step-by-step explanation of the setup or do you have a link for someone else who might have posted one.? Thanks.

Hi @almighty59,

I just released a phyton library to communicate with govee devices that support local API.

This is the first step to an integration as integrations require a separate component for the cimmunication with the devices.

I started working on an integration using this library but I have very limited time so its going slow. In the meantime you can give it a try to the library, it has a demo utility that allows you to test it and easily control your devices…

4 Likes

This is great! Is there a way to see what products are supported? I’m particularly interested in the patio string lights…

1 Like

I found the local api working in this project.

1 Like

Hi @Lumute