Heaty - a flexible heating control, facilitating schedules and manual intervention

Hi all,

I’m new to Home Assistant, but used different other software before (FHEM, OpenHAB). Since I love Python, HA seems to be the perfect choice for me.

After some difficulties with the Eurotronic Spirit Z-Wave Plus thermostats I’m now up and running with some Z-Wave and WiFi components, some of which are thermostats that I use to control the heating in my home.

For that purpose, I wrote an app for AppDaemon that gives you the ability to control thermostats in different rooms with an easy to set up schedule, eliminating lots of boilerplate code that would be needed when doing this sort of task with plain Home Assistant automations…

Manual intervention that overwrites the schedule in specific rooms is also possible at any time.

Advanced features like window-open detection will be added in the future. The current release (v0.1.3) works flawless at least for me. However, testing is needed and very welcome.

Here is the project on GitHub:

Any feedback, issue or pull request is appreciated.

Best regards
Robert

8 Likes

Hi again,

I had some time and implemented the open window detection as well.

Feel free to use and test it in your setups.

Best regards
Robert

Wow, fantastic. This evening i was actually looking in to what the best way to set schedules for my heating would be.
I’ve only recently returned to hadashboard after a good… 6 months away, but will have a go testing this app at some point tomorrow. Will keep you posted!

Edit, @roschi I had a very quick skim through your git repo and noticed it’s primarily aimed at users that have installed appdaemon directly. Any installation instructions for those of us using the appdaemon docker container? We only have access to the config folders as persistent storage. This would also help those who have installed the appdaemon hassio addon

Hi,