HomeAssistant for newcomers: What it is, what is hassio, hassos, hassbian, 101 and cookies

Hi!

Recently I’ve seen a lot of confusion here and on reddit and other places from people new to home assistant. Here I’ll try to answer some of the most common questions, mostly so I can just guide people here instead of copy pasting the same answer, and will also post some of my own opinions.

Please note, that I’m just a user and not affiliated with HomeAssistant, and so far did not even contribute much to it’s development. I’m also not a security or IT expert, though I’m a long time IT hobbyist, running a bunch of Linux servers local and remote and developing web-apps and stuff. My main job is 3D character animation, both art and tech sides of it, so… Just your regular geek. So, if you are an expert who sees something horribly wrong in this text, or even if you think some parts could be worded better - please do tell. I will fix it asap.

With that said, lets’ start.

What is Home Assistant?

Home assistant is Home Automation Hub. Or Home Automation Software to be more precise. It’s free and open source and fully local alternative to things like HomeBridge and SmartThings. It gives you the power of home automation without the cloud so you won’t depend on internet connection or remote servers. This results in faster operation and reliability. At least as long as you know how to properly set it all up, because in this you’re the only one to blame if something fails (well, you or devs for bugs, though I don’t think I’ve seen many bugs in release versions in 2+ years of using Hass).

You can read a bit more about Home Automation fundamental and why HomeAssistant is so great here: https://www.bruhautomation.io/fundamentals/