Light group for lights that are already on

Hi,

I am new to Home Assistant and I have the following challenge:

I want to have a control for all my lights, that are already on. For this I want to use a simple light card. With “controlling” the lights, I mean turn on/off, set brightness and color temperature.

I have already found a solution, to control multiple lights with one light card, by creating a Light Group and adding the lights to this group.

Unfortunately, when I change the brightness, all lights in that group are turned on and I found information, that this behaviour is normal. But as mentioned before: I only want to change the brightness for lights, that are already on, while leaving the others off. So I think I have to find a way, to create a dynamic Light Group with all my lights, that are turned on.

After some researching, I found the possitility to create templates. So I thought the solution for my problem would be, to put a template inside my Light Group definition:

light:
  - platform: group
    name: Turned on lights
    entities: >
      {{ (states.light|selectattr('state','eq','off')|map(attribute='entity_id')|list)|join(',') }}

Unfortunately this does not work.

So here my questions:

Is this the correct way to solve my problem, or is there another (simpler) solution for this? If I am on the correct way: What am I doing wrong?

I hope someone can help me, I did a lot of research, but found no solution for my issue. Thank you in advance for your answers.

2 Likes

You can not use templates there.

You can use that template in an automation to change the brightness.

Thank you for your answer. Now that I know, that it will not work with this approach, could you please give me a hint, how I can achieve the desired fuctionality?

Create an input number that goes from 0 to 255, with a step of 1.

Trigger on any change of the state of the input number (no to or from).