NAS vs Raspberry Pi which is better

Hi,

I am just getting into the world of home automation. Below is the hardware that I currently have:

• QNAP NAS - TVS 673e - Currently use it for media server and webserver

• Samsung smarthings mesh wifi with smarthings hub - got it to improve the wifi coverage, decided to go with Samsung instead of the google wifi because of the smartthings integration app. (I still have time to return it and get the google wifi mesh. Which is better? and why?)

• TP Link smart switch HS 105

• Amazon Echo

Now to the challenging part:
Is it better to install home assistant on the NAS or on a stand alone Raspberry Pi? I read on some forums that if you ave the Pi, you can add the zigbee or z-wave modules. Since i have the smartthings hub, can i use that for the sensors? Also by using the NAS i dont have to power one additional device, I hate using power strips. And i understand that with the NAS it will be a single point of failure.

Thanks in advance, for your help!

For what it’s worth…
I use to have a QNAP device but have no need for local storage these days so decided to sell it before getting into HA. Had I still of had it I would have installed HA on it for the exact reason you said its one less device to power.
However as I put more and more on HA I think I may have moved across to a PI just because I wouldn’t want it down everytime i did a QNAP upgrade. A PI is currently still a single point of failure but if your config is backed up then its so quick to get back up and running with HASSIO i don’t see it as a huge issue.

I have not played with samsung mesh but have google wifi and it just sits there and works, however it does miss basic advance functionality e.g. custom DNS if i was going to change it now i would go unifi like a lot of others on here have done.