Personal Setup: VPS, VPN, faster Tuya and more

Hi everyone,

I have been lurking around the forums for a while now, but after completing (most of) my setup today, I figured it was time to give back and finally made an account.

It’s been a while since I wrote a post so it might be a bit messy, but I’ll do my best to keep everything as clear as possible.

Alright, so let’s start with an outline and some of the “unique” features/solutions of my configuration:

1. Introduction to my situation (devices etc.) and solutions before switching to Home Assistant
  2. Hosted Off-Site on a Digital Ocean VPS
    a. Why, how (VPN)
    b. Experience so far
  3. Tuya Smart Lights
    a. Initial Solution
    b. Faster Solution (near-zero lag)
  4. Nefit Thermostat
  5. Google Home
  6. Tuya Motion Sensor
  7. Mystrom Button

When I got started with HA, I was a total beginner on home automation. So, I will try to make this guide as comprehensive as possible. Hopefully many more beginners will be able to host their own instance of HA, without requiring dedicated local hardware (RPi) but with the flexibility that self-hosted instances offer.

1. Introduction and history

My house has a couple of main rooms: living room, kitchen, hallway, 1st floor, bedroom.
All of these rooms are equipped with Tuya smart lights (“LSC Smart Connect” from Action).
Each room has a Google Home Mini to control the lights.
The TV is an Android TV (Sony Bravia), and the thermostat is a Bosch Nefit Easy.
The router is a TP-Link Archer C1200, which supports OpenVPN (acting as server, handy later), and is able to handle all the devices (almost 50 at this point) just fine, while sitting at 30% CPU usage.
Oven and Coffee machine are Siemens Home Control (but these are yet to be added, and frankly quite irrelevant)