Powering an ESP32 through C-Wire

Hello everyone,

Hating cloud stuff, I’m very happy that I started playing with HA in the last week.

My first project would be to control my electric furnace with the scheduler component/card and take full advantage of dynamic pricing we have here.

My issues are with powering the ESP32 through the C-Wire of the furnace using a stepdown (24V DC to 5V DC). There must be something I’m not understanding, how would I connect the negative terminal of the converter back to the furnace?

thermostat V1

I think the rest of the wiring is accurate (except power and ground to the relays and dht11, these would be the same bus probably) But I’ll take any criticism!

Aren’t most residential HVAC systems 24VAC rather than 24VDC? There should be a transformer for your furnace, which should give you ground.

1 Like

In the US, residential HVAC operates on 24VAC. R and C are your voltage terminals (C is usually called common, but it’s a misnomer because there is no “common” in AC voltage). You will need a 24VAC to DC transformer to convert the voltage then step it down to 5VDC. The only other advice I can recommend is to use some relays that are rated for HVAC equipment/use. They’re usually higher quality and durability and longer lasting.

1 Like

You are right, checked with a voltmeter between R and C wire, getting 24-26VAC, I’ll post a Version 2 picture shortly

I thought the C wire was a hot wire, but it seems like its a ground.

Yup, you are right, need to had a ac-dc converter

My understanding now is that R is power and C would be ground (or I could use a ground somewhere else like CO_4X4 suggested)

I’ll definitly look up some better relays than what i have, cheap stuff from china

V2:

thermostat V2

Yes, that diagram looks correct. No you cannot use any other “ground” for the 24VAC side. You must use your R and C terminals on the furnace.