Pure HA+Thread, "Border Router required"

I’m starting from scratch with HomeAssistant in a KVM, with a SkyConnect USB passed-through. I have no Apple Homekit or any other network/border router. I’m trying to build a pure HomeAssistant + Matter/Thread system.
This is how my Thread looks:

I followed the official guides to get the ZigBee deactivated and Thread activated instead, and to set things up this far.

Now when I try to add my first Thread device (a new Eve smart plug) using the iOS app, it says I need a Thread Border Router in my network. Why does the iOS app not know about the border router I have? How can I make it know?

Any help is appreciated, and please remember I’m new to this, so if there is anything obvious that I might have overlooked, that’s totally a possibility.

1 Like

Matter+thread is currently a big mess, but there are some hints to problem solving in this video.

Oh.

This is what we want to achieve in the long run:

The ability to use the Home Assistant SkyConnect or Home Assistant Yellow as a Thread border router to connect to Thread-based Matter devices instead of using Apple or Google Border routers.

I guess this means my setup is just not yet supported at all :frowning:

The iOS HA Companion App has an issue (I think maybe in the Apple SDK) that doesn’t allow it to get/store/handle properly Thread dataset/credentials. Developers on Discord say a fix is coming soon, but hard to tell how long that will be.

Is this still a problem? I have the same error message when using pure Home Assistant OS + Sonoff ZBDongle-E. There seems to be a working thread network, but the iOS app is unable to find it. I am trying to connect Eve Energy (Matter).

Screenshot: Addon

Since I can use only one image per post, here is my thread screenshot:

Screenshot: Thread

Post a screenshot of your IPv6 settings instead.

I tried it with a Samsung phone and got the same error. These are my network settings (unfortunately in german):

Screenshot: Network