Set or customize NTP source

I am running hassio on a Rpi3 Home Assistant Version 0.79.3
Searching for NTP related queries, I find only subjects where people are looking to serve NTP from their pi / hassio

I want to change whatever the default is, to a local network NTP service already in place.
I think I am close, alter config.json? but I can’t access/find it, the SSH add on does not seem to be any help in this regard.

What am I missing? Import from USB? Little help?

1 Like

Bump? I have left this alone, but it has come around again. I would prefer NTP queries not leave the internal network. I’m sure it is something simple…

I am now running version 0.83.0 for what it is worth.

Thank you,

1 Like

I also want to know how to do this. I’ve been using hassio for a few months now and I just realized that there doesn’t seem to be any NTP client support for syncing hassio’s internal time to a timeserver on the network. I have another machine on my local network that serves NTP for the whole house, I’d like to point my hassio at it too, so it’s aligned with the rest of the network.

The instructions for updating the time source are in Configuration.

If you have access to the root filesystem:

You can manual edit the systemd timesync file on /etc/systemd/timesyncd.conf . Our default ntp configuration look like:
[Time]
NTP=time1.google.com time2.google.com time3.google.com
FallbackNTP=0.pool.ntp.org 1.pool.ntp.org 2.pool.ntp.org 3.pool.ntp.org

If not:

Format a USB stick with FAT32/EXT4/NTFS and name it CONFIG (in all capitals). Alternative you can create a CONFIG folder inside boot partition. Use the following directory structure within the USB drive:

timesyncd.conf

The timesyncd.conf file allow you to set different NTP servers. HassOS won’t boot without correct working time servers!