Setup on Synology NAS with remote access

Hello,
I’m interested in learning home automation and am trying to set-up Home Assistant. I have been having challenges with Home Assistant and am looking for any suggestions or guidance.

Set-up Requirements and Details:

• I’ve been using Synology NAS in my home for many years and am currently running a DS918+. I figured I could run Home Assistant off my Synology so I have started down this path. I’m certainly open to other options as well. I’m not clear what the benefit of running it on the Synology vs my home PC.
  • I would like to be able to remote access my Home Assistant.
  • I would like to be able to share my Home Assistant set-up (or parts of it) with my family members so they can have control and access to some home controls.
  • I have a number of different devices in my house that I will link to Home Assistant. Ecobee, Sonoff, NuHeat, Kasa, B-hyve
  • I got Home Assistant running on my Synology using a Virtual Machine and Docker.
  • I installed HACS.
  • Attempting to set-up remote access has caused the following issues.
    o I created a DuckDNS account
    o Set-up port forwarding and Dynamic DNS in my EdgeMax router (EdgeOS). I’m not confident I set this up correctly as I found a few different methods online.
    o Installed DuckDNS on HomeAssistant
    o After installing DuckDNS my HomeAssistant fails the configuration check. Error was against External and Internal URLs.
    o I removed the External and Internal lines from the configuration Yaml file and it passed the configuration check.
    o Now I can’t access Home Assistant.
    o Using SAMBA I can access the configuration files. So I opened the config file and removed everything that was added per the instructions for DuckDNS. Still HomeAssistant won’t open.
1 Like

I can answer to some of your questions…