Siemens logo 8

Hi, i’m pretty new to hass, but i see a lot of possibilities. I’ve installed hass.io on a RPI3 and everything works fine.
Now i want to communicate with a siemens Logo! 8. anyone has experience with that?
I’ve found a phyton snippit on Github to do this.

https://github.com/sinty/Siemens-LOGO-smart-home

Unfortunately it don’t work. any clues what i do wrong?

1. installed the MQTT broker (works fine, tested via developer tools)
  2. created a “phyton_scrips” directory in config directory and pasted the adapted code from github
  3. changed my configuration.yaml

unfortunately, nothing happens. i have no idea how to begin debugging.

a big thank you!

4 Likes

Hi

Have some Logo! controllers, have HA but still wonder, why would you need Logo beside HA ? What simple PLC can do better than full blown HomeAssistant ???

1 Like

Hi there!
I am also building my system using Siemens LOGO 8 modules.
I did try to use HA modbus component but it did not work out for me.

Then I found that there is kind of easy solution using Node-RED. Just use this node - https://flows.nodered.org/node/node-red-contrib-s7
Also use this flow - https://flows.nodered.org/flow/272a6d2104474c68f7b0e01bae025ead
Then use MQTT for communication with HA.
I still did not figure out how to use it with HA nodes. Maybe there are people that could help?

1 Like

hi, thank you very much for the info. at this time, honestly, it sounds rather complicated, but i will start studying node-red i’ll keep you posted Thanks again for the feedback!

No problem. It is quite little info on siemens logo and ha. I am a beginner too, but nodered-mqtt-ha combination works for me.

thanks. i’ll set up a raspberry with node-red this week. then i wil lfollow the guide i suppose :slight_smile:

No need in raspberry pi. Just create virtual machine using oracle virtualbox. Install hass.io. And just add nodered as integration.

1 Like