Somfy / Bali / Graber / Springs Window Fashions RSZ1 Stall Issue

Continuing the discussion from Bali RSZ1 Z Wave blinds (aka Somfy, Graber, Spring Window fashions) failure after opening:

Hello - I am new to the HA community - moving over from HomeSeer (HS4). I have a decent amount of experience in home automation in general, but only a few weeks with Home Assistant. I am loving it so far!

I ran into this fairly well known random “stalling” issue with the RSZ1 shades about 6-7 years ago when I originally set up my Bali / Graber / SWF RSZ1 shades. On the way up or down, the shades will randomly slow down and stop and a red light on the shade turns on. The shade is then unresponsive for a while or until you reverse the direction with the remote.

I was able to work around the issue by having HomeSeer send a Z-Wave value of 1000 to close the shades and 1001 to open the shades instead of the normal 0 and 99 values.

I can’t remember how I came up with that solution - maybe tracing what values the VCZ1 remotes were actually sending (?)…but using that workaround, the shades worked flawlessly for years. The issue would still occur randomly when trying to partially open the shades by sending a Z-Wave value between 0 and 99, but that’s not really part of our daily use case and we can live without it.

I can’t seem to replicate that workaround in Home Assistant. It appears that the Z-Wave JS integration only supports setting values between 0 and 99…and that lines up with the Z-Wave specs I have researched. So I’m not exactly sure how HomeSeer was able to set those 1000 / 1001 values - or perhaps it was doing something different behind the scenes. Maybe it’s as easy as defining a different command class when setting the Z-Wave value - my Z-Wave knowledge is somewhat surface level.