TTS on Alexa?

The thread “Echo Devices (Alexa) as Media Player - Testers Needed” has almost 1,400 posts, and the thread “Alexa Announce Feature - Text to Speach via Alexa now a possability?” has more than 300 posts- many of which point to the former topic.

Can someone please summarize how to use TTS on Alexa without having to read through more than a thousand posts on the topic(s)?

Home Assistant Call Service Node (Node-Red), help please

This is all based my experience with the former and being in the US. I have no experience (yet…) with the latter.

basically…

you need to copy the alexa.py file from the github repo and place it in your custom_components/media_player directory.

Then in your config you place the following:

media_player:
  - platform: alexa
    email: !secret amazon_email
    password: !secret amazon_pass
    url: amazon.com

when you restart you should be greeted with a new pop up for the configuration for the component which, at this point, should just be that you need enter in a “Captcha” verification. Which should then create a persistent key in you configuration directory (alexa_media.pickle) and some other config files in the same directory where you placed the alexa.py file.

Once you complete that successfully (and maybe a restart of HA) then you should see all of your Echo devices pop up as media_players in your states list which you can use to play different media sources controlled by HA. And there will also be a new service exposed (media_player.alexa_tts) that you can use to send TTS messages to your desired Echo media_player devices.

For example:

- service: media_player.alexa_tts
      data:
        entity_id: 
          - media_player.computer_room_dot
          - media_player.kitchen_dot
          - media_player.livingroom_dot

Thanks. You just saved me days of reading and !comprehending lots of off-topic posts.

I know. It was a few hundred less when I started in and it still took forever.