[Tutorial] Using Bluetooth multimedia buttons in Hassio Automations

Hi! I’m new to Home Assistant and Hassio, so if you already knew how to do this or are already doing this then awesome! But I couldn’t find anything online with a clear instruction on how to setup Bluetooth multimedia buttons to work on my setup. So I’m sharing how I got my buttons to work with my automations in HA on Hassio in hopes that if someone had the same problem as me, this might be their answer.
Please note: This the way I got it to work and there may other ways to do it but this way worked for me.

I’m building on this 3 year old thread that sort of had the right direction.

In summary, it’s effectively 3 steps:

1. Pair the Bluetooth device
  2. Use the keyboard-remote integration
  3. Write the automations.

But if you want the details, they are…

My Setup: RPi 3B running Hassio

Step 1. Pair the Bluetooth Multimedia Buttons to the Pi.
I couldn’t find a way to pair the buttons over SSH so I had to control the Pi server directly.

• When prompted for the “hassio login:”, login with “root”.
  • Once logged on, you’ll need to access the host system by inputing “login”.
  • Go to the Bluetooth agent using the command “bluetoothctl”.
  • Start the Bluetooth scan by the command “scan on”.
  • Wake up the button by pressing the middle button, this will turn on the scan on the button as well.
  • You should see the device popup on the server with its MAC address and name
    e.g. “[NEW] Device XX:XX:XX:XX:XX:XX SmartRemote” (In my instance it was called SmartRemote)
  • Pair the device by entering the command pair along with the MAC address
    e.g. “pair XX:XX:XX:XX:XX:XX”
  • After pairing the agent should say the device is a Human Interface Device (HID)
  • Trust the device by entering the command trust along with the MAC address (not sure if this step is needed)
    e.g. “trust XX:XX:XX:XX:XX:XX”