(UK) Light Switch

Hi guys, Im pretty new to all the smart home stuff, so please excuse me if i ask anything silly.

Key Notes:

• I have neutral wiring at light switches.
  • I’ve got builders working on the house currently so changes can be made if needed.
  • Back box depth on switches are at 35mm currently.
  • Need something reliable

I’d like some suggestions on smart switches that can be used as normal on/off physical switch not a touch one, but however without having the connection disconnected to HA. Preferably running over wifi rather then RF. My home is covered with Wifi Access Points in all rooms so connection wise it is is solid.

Currently im running Hive bulbs around the house but it is no practical as when the switch is off you cant turn it on from HA or the app.

Many Thanks in advance.

From my experience I can recommend Sonoff T1 switches - WiFi but touch or Xiaomi wall switches - Buttons but ZIgbee.

I would recommend Shelly 1 switches. I have a lot of them in use for several months now. No flashing required, they work as MQTT switches and you can still use the existing switch, even if HA is down.

Thanks for the replies. Hspem would the Shelly switches work with UK wiring as a quick google search and was mostly for American style wiring or have i found the wrong ones.

Id love to go for the sonoff switches but my elderly parents are not too keen on it. They like it the old way :smiley:.

I’m no expert but would an in-line switch work I’ve seen a few online. But not sure if it cuts off when switch is off.

@shabz , did you make any progress?

I too am starting out and will be using my home office and other non-critical parts of the house as my testing ground… and this topic would help greatly before making any purchases.

Is RF, Z-wave, Zigbee preferred? Is direct communications to the devices preferred (my expectation if its compatible) or through hub(s)?