Uk switches / sockets

hi!

i’m sure this has been asked too many times already, but the smart-home space is moving so quickly that i don’t trust old info/advice… what are some of the best budget-friendly 240v power-socket and switch solutions in uk?

i’m just starting out, got hassio running on a virtualbox on my main win10 machine, and esphome on hassio, so far i’m using a d1 mini esp32 to control a simple led strip. i have no zigbee (although i expect to get eventually), or zwave, am suuuuper reluctant to buy any google or amazon devices and local-only/offline operation is a dealbreaker - the internet here is sketchy (nb my wifi is solid, it’s upstream that is flakey. curse virgin media)

atm i want some sockets and some switches as well as a flood sensor.

i read that TP Link sockets are no longer recomended for hassio use?

i found these: https://www.amazon.co.uk/BG-Electrical-Socket-Compatible-Moulded/dp/B07VC1GWV9
mentioned here: UK WIFI Smart Socket - Screwfix - Testing
and here: Has anyone used BG Sockets (UK)

i’m new and it looks from those posts that integrating the bg socket into hassio is not the easiest - are there budget-friendly alternatives i should consider?

and re: switches i haven’t even really started to research properly, can you recomend a shortlist for uk (i.e. no neutral) use? i’m mostly looking at shelly but would appreciate up-to-date locale/voltage-specific input if anyone cares to share?

There was a thread about this the other day, though the OP was interested in power monitoring as well.

If you’re starting out, I’d suggest trying a couple of smart plugs like the ones mentioned, just to dip a toe in the water before you start rewiring.

thanks for replying

i saw that post and am following with interest, but as power monitoring is not a factor for me* i thought best to start a new thread…