Using HA with a Conventional Alarm System - the best option?

Hi, I’m relatively new to HA but already successfully using it to automate things at home. I’m now looking at what I need from a Smart Home Security Solution, and thought I’d share my thoughts and conclusions. I’m happy for any comments or challenges if anyone thinks I’ve missed something important.

I’ve looked at a few examples of HA-based alarms from the community posts and elsewhere, but feel a security system based solely around a home automation solution (HA or other) is in some ways a backward step compared to a traditional alarm system.

I installed a few burglar alarms (as we call them in the UK) in the 1980s and those old systems had some good features:

• Their own battery-backed power supply, so the alarm was still active even if the property’s mains power was cut off; the external sounder/siren even had a battery so if the scroat breaking into your home ripped the alarm panel off the wall the external sounder would still be activated.
  • Tamper protection on the PIRs, and control panel.
  • Most devices were wired and powered via the security panel. So no device batteries to keep tabs on or replace.
  • High availability:
    • No downtime for software upgrades/patching!
    • No dependencies upon additional components like a WiFi network, Router, Internet connections, or a phone or tablet as a control device; fewer points of failure.
    • Not susceptible to RF blocking hacks.