WTH doesn’t ZHA support Friends of Hue buttons yet?

“Friends of Hue” are battery-less ZGP (Zigbee green power) wall switches that are very popular in Europe. They work with a hue bridge as well as deConz but not with ZHA.

There’s an open issue in zigpy for two and a half years.

If HA wants to become a truly mass appeal solution lacking support like this is not cool.

Hi
I’m new to ZHA and coming from deCONZ. I was very surprised that zha doesn’t support my Feller Friends of Hue Switch. Is there a way to support this with some beers/ coffees?

3 Likes

FYI, this is really asking the same as this other post about the ZGP (Zigbee Green Power) specification:

As a workaround you should know that Zigbee Green Power is supported by Zigbee2MQTT and also deCONZ/Phoscon as well, however, it is not yet supported in Home Assistant’s own ZHA integration as no ZHA/zigpy developer has implemented support for ZGP in the zigpy library that it depends on as of yet.

As I understand it, allZigbee gateways/hubs that support ZGP has the requirements that ZGP devices connect indirectly through other Zigbee 3.0 router devices which in turn act as repeaters to pass along ZGP messages. That is, Zigbee routers do not really convert the ZGP messages, instead they just pass the messages along, meaning Zigbee gateway/hub application still need to explicitly support ZGP.

So in the end, Home Assistant need more volunteering Python developer(s) with interest in low-level Zigbee support to get that existing code pull request and open a new code pull request for the zigpy library (ZHA dependency) or create new code that is acceptable for merger:

https://github.com/zigpy/zigpy/pull/656