Alternative firmware for Arilux AL-LC03 for use with MQTT and Home Assistant (RGB light strip controller)

Hey guys,
A while ago I started playing with Arilux RGB LED controllers for use with Home Assistant and an IR remote. The product is relatively cheap and it’s CE compliant.

Arilux AL-LC03: http://www.banggood.com/ARILUX-AL-LC03-Super-Mini-LED-WIFI-APP-Controller-Remote-Control-For-RGB-LED-Strip-DC-9-12V-p-1060223.html

Features

• IR remote support
  • RF remote support
  • MQTT support
  • TLS support

Supported devices

• Arilux AL-LC03 (RGB, IR)
  • Arilux AL-LC09 (RGB, RF)

I created a Github repository for anyone who wants to get going fast with them: https://github.com/mertenats/Arilux_AL-LC03

Demo: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IKh0inaLvAU

Any questions or suggestions I would be happy to answer.

Sam

9 Likes

Nice work!

I’ve got a similar one without IR.
I never opened it up, but maybe I’m able to add an IR diode to gain the same functionality?
Maybe we could use this to forward other/custom IR codes to hass as an universal receiver…

You didn’t include flash, strobe, fade, smooth functions yet, did you?
I like the ones (smooth strobe green etc.) you find in the MagicHome app…

Is there a way to restore the default firmware?

Thank you!

1. I think it’s possible to add an IR receiver to the controller, but it will not be well integrated. You probably have the AL-LC01 and it has a free pin (Arilux AL-LC01). To work with this firmware, you need to buy the same IR remote.
  2. Flash, strobe, fade and smooth functions are not yet implemented. I don’t use them, but if I have time these days, I’ll take a look at it.
  3. It’s possible to restore the default firmware only if you possess it. I haven’t found a link to download the original one.

Sam

Looks great, Thanks for sharing.

One question (I have to say, I’m completle new to such Stuff). How do i flash the alternative Firmware?

BR

LUkas