Australian Weather Forecast using BOM Public FTP

Hi All,

First off, credit to @enzymes in this thread for inspiring me to do this work. I am not a developer, and this is my first exposure to Python, so hopefully I have created something at least partially useful for the Australian Home Assistant community. I am completely open to feedback and would love to make something that is used by our community

So it seems the BoM have recently started detecting and blocking web scrapers, fortunately they also provide an open, public FTP service. Unfortunately, Home Assistant doesn’t have an FTP component already. This is where I have tried to fill in the gap with my custom component, bom_forecast.

Please follow the setup instructions on github:

Friendly mode?

• Friendly mode will avoid creating a sensor for each individual condition for each day of forecast and will neatly present each forecast day as one sensor.

17 Likes

Tried this through the Appdaemon app you release a week ago and still getting the same error now. Am I the only one getting this issue? Thanks again for your efforts Brendan.

2018-10-02 11:58:47 ERROR (MainThread) [homeassistant.components.sensor] Error while setting up platform bom_forecast
Traceback (most recent call last):
File “/srv/homeassistant/lib/python3.6/site-packages/homeassistant/helpers/entity_platform.py”, line 128, in _async_setup_platform
SLOW_SETUP_MAX_WAIT, loop=hass.loop)
File “/usr/lib/python3.6/asyncio/tasks.py”, line 358, in wait_for
return fut.result()
File “/usr/lib/python3.6/concurrent/futures/thread.py”, line 56, in run
result = self.fn(*self.args, **self.kwargs)
File “/home/homeassistant/.homeassistant/custom_components/sensor/bom_forecast.py”, line 134, in setup_platform
bom_forecast_data.update()
File “/srv/homeassistant/lib/python3.6/site-packages/homeassistant/util/init.py”, line 324, in wrapper
result = method(*args, **kwargs)