No IP address showing

Good afternoon all, I am new to home assistant and new to the forum so go gentle with me.
Yesterday afternoon I noticed that I could no longer dial into the web page for me home assistant after doing some research and playing around I noticed that I could no longer see it’s up address using fing or advanced IP scanner.
My home assistant is running on a virtual box remote pc and was all working fine. Using the command line console I have found that it doesn’t appear that my VM as an ip address. I am hoping that someone out there has a fix for me. I remember reading somewhere about how to set a static IP using the command line console but I can’t find it now. this is what I can see

By looking at your picture you might have disabled the network interface for your virtual machine which is running HA.
Try to check your network setting in Virtual Box.

Managed to sort it don’t know how permit the fix will be I changed the network adapter on the VM saved it then changed it back seems to have solved the issue don’t know how or y. Thank you for pointing me in the right direction

1 Like

Hi, can you explain more detail on how u fix the issue? I am new here, had to do home assistant for my grafana tools

Try to unplug and your network cable and plug in again. You now should get the IP address (You might want to use Fing to discover the IP of HomeAssistant)

1 Like

Hi, I have similar problem. I’m running Home Assistant on Raspberry pi for more the year, but since 2 months ago, when power cutoff and go back, my Home Assistant won’t get IP address. It is wired connection. So I have to hook up a monitor and keyboard and run from Home Assistant CLI command ‘network update’ (or similar) , to get an IP address. Do you have idea what could couse this bug?

1 Like