Sonoff Mini Modifications

LIGHTING | IRRIGATION | INPUT | TREATMENT | FILTRATION | SOLIDS

AQUAPONIC | PLC | SCREENS | SONOFF | myHome-Assistant Project

Sonoff Basic | [Sonoff Mini]

Sonoff Mini - My First Mods

Over the past 12 months I have found a lot of uses for modified Sonoff Basic devices but this is my first attempt to find some more uses for this new sonoff device.

After flashing Tasmota using the ‘solder 4 small leads on method’.
NOTE: Black is GND Red is 3.3V Yellow is TX and White is RX.

I moved on after a period of testing two flashed Mini’s for a while to have a go at setting one up to do a specific job which I have a Wemos D1 Mini doing at the moment. For a few reasons I have not been happy with the wemos performance so I was keen to see what the sonoff Mini could do!

In this project, what I need is to operate 3 lights (via a 4 relay module) and connect two PIR movement sensor modules.

First job was to setup the device to run on 5V power and connect to the available GPIO’s I was planning to use.

Step 1

Red is 5V supply, Black (on S_OUT) is GND supply, Orange is GPIO0, Yellow is GPIO2, Green is GPIO3 (RX) and Blue is GPIO1 (TX)

Step 2

Add Brown wire to connect to 3.3V which will be used to supply 2 X PIR Sensors and then arrange the wires to be brought outside the case for use in the project at hand.

DISCLAIMER: I am not (and never will be) using 240V at all on this sonoff Mini so having these wires pass by the 240V tracks is not an issue.

After that a small section was filed out of the case to allow the wires to pass neatly outside without being pinched as the case was closed up.

PHOTO COMING SOON: sorry but I missed the photo opportunity today.

Then the modified sonoff Mini was setup with the desired GPIO functionality and tested thoroughly with default settings from the Tasmota Flash prior to actually connecting to a 4 channel 5V Relay module and 2 X PIR sensor modules.