Who will notify.notify notify?

Hello, newbie here, sorry for my (probably) stupid question. I’ve been setting up hangouts and gmail smtp notifications, which work under their own service (notify.hangouts and notify.gmail), but can’t get them to work as expected under the notify.notify service.

If I understood correctly, notify.notify should notify all platforms. Is that correct? Because when calling notify.notify I am only getting notifications in the mobile App, which I haven’t even configured. I am not trying to configure a group, only trying to understand what is notify.notify supposed to do.

Thank you in advance.

1 Like

See this post:

2 Likes

It notifies all the people.
If you use notify.your_phone it will be just you.
notify.notify sends the notification for everybody with the app who is logged in in your home assistant (family, friends and everybody you share your HA).
If you need something special, you need to change the notifications, for example notify.whatsapp (with callmebot).
So be careful with sensitive information you notify.

No it does not. Read my post above.

Also as evidenced by observations in the original question:

Thank you for your answers. Sorry to bother, but I still don’t get it though.

I am not really trying to notify all with a group, I just would like to understand why it is behaving like that. I’ve been searching for info on how notify.notify works to no avail, and it is really frustrating.

This makes sense, as it is exactly how it is behaving.

I’m sure this makes sense, but I don’t understand it… which notification platform is used if you don’t specify it through service name? If I go to “Services > developer tools”, invoke “notify.notify” and simpy provide a message, it will be sent without specifying any platform. Is there any “default platform” which happens to be in-app messages?

Thank you again.

What app? Do you mean the android app? Or the ios app?

There are 69 notification integrations.