Absolute Beginners guide to installing HA on Intel NUC using Docker

Target Audience

Hello everyone, this is a first guide I’m writing which should help people looking to upgrade from a Raspberry Pi to Intel NUC to run their Home Assistant instances.

Assumptions

At this point, I assume the following

• You have a fair understanding of how Home Assistant works.
  • You should know Docker to a certain extent.
    • If you are new, then I would request you to stop here and go to their official getting started guide here, go through to at least Part 3 and only then come back to this thread.
    • I used this video as well, Learn Docker in 12 minutes
  • You have an Intel NUC available for use
  • Willing to learn a little bit of Linux (I started it 3 days before writing this article)
  • Does not get scared with commands :wink:

Install Options

There are multiple ways of running HA, and this is a place where I was confused the most as to which route to take and why? To save you a little trouble, here are the possible options

Hass.io via HassOS Image for Intel NUC

You can get the official image from here and proceed as per the installation article, i.e. burn SD card, configure the network, so on and so forth.

Pro’s
  • Familiar Hass.io interface
  • Add-ons support
  • Widely used and most common installation with RPi
Cons
  • Nothing specific here other than the fact that if you choose this path, then you would not be able to do anything else on your NUC. I would personally not recommend this because NUC is a powerhouse and you should utilize it like one.

Install on your Windows 10, Ubuntu Linux on NUC

Steps described here but trust me don’t choose this path either. Even the articles say getting a virtual environment.

Ubuntu on NUC with Docker

This is the way to go and is described in this guide. Docker works best with Linux systems, don’t even bother with Windows :wink:, I have been there and the experience sucks.

Pro’s