Hass.io On Hyper-V - Step By Step

So, I briefly described how I got this working in another post and some people indicated that it was helpful. As I’m still a bit new to all of this I’ve found these forums helpful, and so I thought I’d do a more detailed step-by step as it’s something that I can actually contribute back to the community. I’ve seen another guide around, but It went down a slightly different path.
The below is using Hyper-V on a Server 2019 host, but it’s the same for Server 2012R2 and I can only assume 2016 as well.

1. Download the Hass.io VHDX file. It’s a pre-built appliance - no skill needed! I love it.

2. Your setup may differ - but I created these directories and placed a copy of the downloaded file here. A copy, because I have re-used the base file on more than one VM and have retained it for future use.

1. Keep it tidy - rename the file in keeping with the name you’ll give the VM.

1. Run the VM Creation Wizard. It’s all quite straightforward. Name it and specify the location as the folder you created in step 1.

1. The VM must be Generation 2.

1. Give it some memory. 512 did for me for a while but I had to turn it up to 1024 when I got a bunch more automation going on.

1. Connect it to the network you want to use it on.

1. Choose to use the disk you renamed in step 2.

2. Finish the wizard at the summary page.

1. Before powering the VM on, go into its Settings, and under the Security tab, un-check “Secure Boot”.

1. Power it on. Magic happens as it sets itself up. It’s a 6GB dynamically expanding disk and will grow as it evolves.

1. Browse to its IP on port 8123. You’ll have to get that from your DHCP server or router. If you’re creating Hyper-V VMs I’m picking you know how to do that. At some point fairly early in the automatic setup, it will start hosting this web page:

1. Once setup is complete, you’ll get the welcome page in your browser: